Pre-Harry Potter

I found Net Galley through Thomas Nelson Publisher and just about wet my pants one day looking through the galley of books. I saw Eoin Colfer’s books listed and they were talking about new releases! I hurriedly requested the two books and began reading. Now this was on my laptop – pre-Nook days. I had read almost half of Artemis Fowl before I was completely sure that I had read this book before. Sure enough, I had actually read that book and the other book from Net Galley, The Arctic Incident, and had even read the third book, The Eternity Code.

Eoin Colfer’s series of books is listed as Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Myths genre on amazon.com. Artemis Fowl is a 12-year-old genius who has figured out the mysteries of fairies, leprechauns, and other mythical creatures. In the first book, Artemis kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. Colfer weaves this tale in such a manner that, as an adult, I could fully understand how children could become enthralled with this genre of literature. I was hooked! In the second book, Artemis must become partners with the fairies in order to save his father from Russian kidnappers. Finally in the third book, Artemis once again pairs up with Holly to save his beloved butler – named Butler who was seriously injured when Artemis attempts to fulfill his last criminal deed.

If you love Harry Potter and other books in this genre, I am sure that you will be intrigued by Artemis and his adventures! I received the two ebooks free for review from netgalley.com.

You can purchase the books at amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.

Leave a Reply

