Plainly Wonderful!

I have always read Amish stories. I collect Beverly Lewis books. I love to try recipes from cookbooks bought on trips through “Amish country.” I am impressed by the standard of living within Amish communities – the simpleness, the absolute adherence to values set centuries ago, and the love of Christ. Recently I read Plain Wisdom by Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud and was immediately hooked! The authors storytelling from a personal context was easy to read and showed the similarities between Cindy, an Englischer wife and mother, and Miriam, an Amish wife and mother.

Each chapter was filled with personal stories of similar thoughts and in some chapters there are even Amish family recipes. When I say “chapters,” I am not talking about 20 or 30 pages, but rather not more than 5 to 7 pages. This book is an easy read that is also hard to put down. I could have easily read this book in a few hours, but chose to read it a few chapters at a time and then marinate in the wisdom that these two women write about. Both women have learned many valuable insights into the best way to live a life with strength and grace. A strong faith in God overshadows the daily lives of both Miriam and Cindy while raising families, facing disappointments, and celebrating successes.


I received this book free for review from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. You can rank my review by clicking on the icon.

Leave a Reply

