Sightings of Loving Relationships

“God calls us to be in relationship with others.” I have heard this said time and time again. Truthfully, it is hard to not be in relationship with others. Even if it is only a relationship with the computer-generated operator at the utility company or the clerk at the local grocery store. However, many of us have difficulty in seeking, attaining, and maintaining quality, long-term relationships with others. Familial relationships are even tepid at times and for some downright boiling. Kerry and Chris Shook have addressed the issue of relationship healing and enhancement for all in their book Love at Last Sight: 30 days to grow and deepen your closest relationships.
For me, relationships have been what I seek and struggle with at the same time. I always found myself able to find a relationship with others, but acquiring healthy long-term relationships have been difficult. I eagerly awaited this book hoping that it would open the doors, window, and closets of my inability to remain in relationship with others on a healthy level. What I have found is a valuable resource for this task. One caveat though – it is not a quick-fix remedy! In order to truly understand the information that the authors have given, I believe that you must read this book through a couple of times and journal your thoughts and answers to the questions/activities posed at the end of each chapter.


In a society of electronic everything, the art of communication is becoming lost. We believe that “friends” on Facebook constitute true relationships. Meaningful, satisfying relationships require more than an occasional quip on a Facebook wall. The Shooks have outlined a 30-day program that guides the reader through steps to develop the four relational arts that they say has been forgotten but are quite powerful. They are the art of being there, the art of acting intentionally, the art of risking awkwardness, and the art of letting go.

Another cliché that I have heard quite often has been “I love you more today than yesterday.” Kerry and Chris Shook’s title says more than mere words – love at last sight – each moment that you spend with the people are most important to you should be better than the last. If we live this way, then, as the Shooks say, when we reach The Day our relationships will be the best that they can be. I know for me, I would love to know that each day with my friends and family is an improvement on the day before. That my love and connection is improving. That if it is the last time that I seem them, I am not leaving them to wonder if my love and the relationship with them was real.

I received this book for review from WaterBrook Multnomah for free.

You can purchase this book at http://www.praisesonline.com

Leave a Reply

